Materialistic jubilation and bitter ironies

If you wait long enough, home comforts will come to you. A product line I missed desperately in my early days in the UK has finally arrived from across the Atlantic. Unlike pumpkin pie filling, I found no reasonable substitute (making it from scratch, which turns out to be soooo much better anyway – living in the wilds of Britain has liberated me from the tyranny of branded and pre-processed ingredients). Unlike Karo syrup, I found no exclusive and expensive supply (at Selfridges) or a reasonable, but imperfect facsimile (Golden Syrup).

No, it just wasn’t available and nothing came close.

And no, sadly, it’s not SunDrop – but something almost as good.

The Sharpie. Yes, the Sharpie is finally available in the UK. I haven’t seen it in stores, but I have seen it advertised on tv.


(Image ripped from the official Sharpie site)

Yes, I am a stationery fetishist – but the Sharpie is the supreme permanent marker – it will write on almost anything – as I learned during my undergraduate days as a geology student – marking many, many rock samples with barely a dimunition in flow.

And sure my needs for a permanent marker are less than they used to be, but when you need a Sharpie you need a Sharpie.

And now I can get one here in the UK.

-0-

And then there ‘s the ironic twist worthy of O’Henry

Now that I can get a Sharpie, is just the time when my household may not be best suited for permanent markers.



Image ripped from here