Help! Consumer conundrum

OK, so I’ve had this idea for sometime that we should get rid of the cheap fold-out futon that serves as a guest bed and the couch we bought at a thrift store in the first year of our marriage and get a new sofa bed to replace the two.

This would give us more room in our tiny little living room and it might be more comfortable than what we’ve got.

So – I’ve found a leather sofa bed on sale here, and I’m thinking about getting it (sale ends tomorrow!). But I’m already having a bit of worry because it’s a mail order place, so I’ve never actually seen the sofa, much less touched it or sat on it – and it’s a heck of a lot of money. Plus – do those furniture sales ever actually end? Or is it a way to induce stress and poor decision making in the hapless shopper?

The Vol-in-Law’s been no help. He said “Sure, get it, if that’s what you want.” He did make me measure up though before he’d look at the picture.

folded out and coiled up like a snake